sizing a Jamis Aurora

canadan

Mar 15, 2010
I'm a newbie, about to buy my first real touring bike and I've already decided on a bicycle, Jamis Aurora but the closest store that carries it is 3 hours away (by bus / train). Moreover the stores that I can get to (in 3 hours) sell the bike for about $250-300 more than a couple of places that I've located on the East coast (> a thousand miles away) so I'm not likely to buy it from them.

I'm considering buying the bike from a remote store and have them ship it (they'll ship it for $125). Besides not having them around to help if something needs adjusting (I guess a local bike store could do that) I can't test it out to see if it fits. Then again, considering that I know exactly which bike I want to buy, my choices of frame size are fairly limited to start. A rough calculation on a website based on my height and inseam (5'8, 80.5cm respectively) tells me that I need a frame on the order of 54cm. The Jamus Aurora comes in 53cm and 55cm (the 2010 model seems to come in 54cm, but that's much more expensive and doesn't seem to have much improvement over the 2008 model). So now I just need to choose between those frame sizes.

How should I decide on a frame size? Is there a popular bike make, say canondale, (which I am certain to find locally) whose sizing is comparible to Jamis'? If so, maybe I should try that.

OR should I just take the trip to Chicago be willing to pay the extra cash to buy a bike there and get sized in person?

Any advice is appreciated.

thanks.

dan

canadan said:
I'm a newbie, about to buy my first real touring bike and I've already decided on a bicycle, Jamis Aurora but the closest store that carries it is 3 hours away (by bus / train). Moreover the stores that I can get to (in 3 hours) sell the bike for about $250-300 more than a couple of places that I've located on the East coast (> a thousand miles away) so I'm not likely to buy it from them.