Sizing Trek 7100

kantkawianning

Jun 28, 2006
Hello,

My wife recently purchased a Trek 7100 "Lowstep." She is 5'7" with a 33.5" inseam (measured for biking, not clothing).

She was sized at the LBS on a 16 inch frame. The other frames sizes available in this version are 14 and 18.5 inches.

I'm not sure this is the right frame size, but I could be wrong.

The shop set her up with the saddle low enough for her to completely plant her feet on the ground when seated, which is fine, since she is just getting back into biking. However, with this setup, her knees rise way past parallel during an upward crank rotation. She hasn't complained of discomfort yet, but she hasn't ridden it much. My thought is that this may eventually cause knee problems, but I'm no expert. Is this normal on a hybrid/comfort bike?

I have the same exact inseam, though I am 6' tall, and when I rode it in this configuration, it didn't feel right to me.

I raised the seat for her, so that when seated in the saddle only her toes touch the ground, but her knees still rotate a little past parallel.

Being a good husband, I didn't want to interfere with her shopping, but I did notice two things: they searched the shop and an offsite warehouse for a 18.5 in this bike for her to try out, but could only find the 16. Part of me felt they were simply trying to sell stock on their floor. Secondly, after waiting 30 minutes for the "Bike Prep," I realized when we got home that the tires had not been filled. This lapse in basic service, and the subtle "desperation" of the sales assistant to make a sale causes me to wonder: did she get the right sized frame?

I should add, my wife did try the 18 inch frame at another shop, but she felt less comfortable in it than a Navigator 100 frame (I forget what size it was). My guess is that the added height of the wheels scared her a bit.