Slicks on mtn bike vs. cheap road bike

Discussion in 'Touring and recreational cycling' started by Hailey, Apr 16, 2013.

1. Hailey

Hailey New Member

I am new to bike touring and serious cycling, and I'm planning a trip down the Natchez Trace Parkway. I have a mountain bike that I have ridden for years and is in decent condition. Funds are very limited. So my question is....should I just buy slick tires to put on my mountain bike? Or do I really need to be on the lookout for a road bike? There are several decent deals on Craigslist (mostly Schwins--I don't know much about different bikes and which are good). I don't plan on doing much touring after this trip, for a good while, so I would like to do whatever is most economical but also practical for having a successful trip. Thanks!

Tags:

2. Volnix

Volnix Well-Known Member

Can you rent a good bike just for the trip?

3. vspa

vspa Active Member

it all depends the distance that you are covering, where do you start from ?

4. Hailey

Hailey New Member

Renting a bike is a good idea, Volnix. There is a good bike shop right at the start of the Trace that I know does rentals, I will need to price check. That is the defining factor for me.

And vspa, I am starting from the Northern terminus in Nashville and planning to do the entire 450ish miles down to Natchez, MS.

5. alfeng

alfeng Well-Known Member

It will be much more economical if you buy Slicks for your MTB ...

BTW. The TYPE of MTB which you have does matter to some extent ...

• if it is a reasonably good Hardtail, then a definite 'yes' to the Slicks (don't forget, you will probably need narrower tubes) ...
    • if you have an inexpensive MTB (sub-$150 MSRP), then you may be happier with another bike UNLESS you can lock out the front suspension and/or rear shock.