Slight problem, need some help

Rugger95

Feb 18, 2004
I decided my bike was in need of a good cleaning so I got out some degreaser and a rag and went to it. Well, I am somewhat new to the sport and got a little carried away with the cleaning and ended up with the chain, chainrings, and rear derailleur off and apart and had them shining like new again. I decided I should just replace the chain, it has about 2000 miles on it and new parts feel good so I just got a new one. Learned a heck of alot about my bike through the process of taking off and putting back on. Well, now my bike shifts like ****. The rear derailleur (S105) skips gears and is just all out of wack. I have tried adjusting it, spent about 5 hours totall tinkering, and it still just shifts on its own and doesnt work right. I was wondering if anyone could tell me where to start with the adjustments. I have tried to line up the bottom disc with the appropriate gear but it still works like ****. I even checked to see if I put it back together wrong but everything is in the right spot, and the new chain is even the right length. I would love some suggestions so I dont have to take it to the lbs.

Originally posted by Rugger95
I decided my bike was in need of a good cleaning .... now my bike shifts like ****. ... The rear derailleur (S105) skips gears and is just all out of wack.

There's always an element of risk involved if you replace the chain but leave the old cassette, because these parts have been worn in together (including the chain rings but to a smaller amount). If you still have the old chain around you could also check how extended the old chain had become, this could be a good indication to if you need to replace the cassette too.
I'd also suggest rechecking that you got the right chain and that all the pieces went back in the right order again. What about the pre-loaded springs?