Slight spoke bend

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jason

I have a rear wheel with a 28h cormia hub, velocity deepV, 2.0mm spokes, 2x on the drive side.

As built the spokes have a slight bend in them around an inch from the hub flange (before the first
cross) on the drive side and I have broken a spoke at this point.

I am no wheelbuilding expert, but the corima hub appears to be "built" to be 3x. That is, the way
the spoke elbow seats in the hub flange it aims towards a spoke hole in the rim that lays the spoke
further over the hub.

If you can understand my words and have an opinion I would appreciate your thoughts.

Jason

Get Jobst Brandt's excellent book the Bicycle Wheel and learn all about it.

"Gearóid Ó Laoi/Garry Lee" <[email protected]> brightened my day with his incisive wit when
in news:[email protected] he conjectured that:

> Get Jobst Brandt's excellent book the Bicycle Wheel and learn all about it.
>

But buy a book on advanced material science first, and get a degree in "tensionology".

While a great book it's hardly for the casual reader.

--
Walter Mitty.

Simply not true, a very easy read even for the mostly bike ignorant. Will explain the process and
the premise. chris "Walter Mitty" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> "Gearóid Ó Laoi/Garry Lee" <[email protected]> brightened my day with his incisive wit
> when in news:[email protected] he conjectured that:
>
> > Get Jobst Brandt's excellent book the Bicycle Wheel and learn all about it.
> >
>
> But buy a book on advanced material science first, and get a degree in "tensionology".
>
> While a great book it's hardly for the casual reader.
>
> --
> Walter Mitty.

"jason" <[email protected]> wrote in message
> I have a rear wheel with a 28h cormia hub, velocity deepV, 2.0mm spokes, 2x on the drive side.
>
> As built the spokes have a slight bend in them around an inch from the hub flange (before the