So my bike got trashed...once again. Help?

pfe

Aug 6, 2006
In April I decided I wanted to get a bike and my girlfriend bought me one for my birthday just four days later. It is a '79 Bavarian, still has the original dealer tags from Munich, etc. Pretty spiffy for a first bike. Anyways, I'm a college student and I ride my bike five miles to work every day and back. About a month ago a guy rammed the back end of my bike and bent the steel rims. The wheel is now as trued as a steel rim can be and I started riding it again. Today, while I'm at work, some bashes off the front light, deflates my tires, unscrews the wheel and chain guards, and attempts to steal a wheel. Needless to say this is depressing and with missing screws I had to walk home. Catching up to the point of this thread though: I no longer want to wander around with this bike. It has become more of a sentimental thing than anything else.

Now, on craigslist there is a $30 Raleigh Record for sale (matches my girlfriends bike) and it says it is in good condition, just needs some wires changed out and a tune-up. I wanted to swap out the wires myself but I don't know where to buy the parts online, which brand would be best, and what I need to look for. Do you have any suggestions on brands and reasons why as well as online maintenance manuals?

Much appreciated in advance!

pfe said:
Now, on craigslist there is a $30 Raleigh Record for sale (matches my girlfriends bike) and it says it is in good condition, just needs some wires changed out and a tune-up. I wanted to swap out the wires myself but I don't know where to buy the parts online, which brand would be best, and what I need to look for. Do you have any suggestions on brands and reasons why as well as online maintenance manuals?

Much appreciated in advance!