Some help for a newbie

rotaryrocket

Dec 24, 2014
Hello everyone, I am new to cycling and am currently mostly commuting. I have an older Giant MTB that I have been using for the time being, but I am looking to get something newer/nicer for the commutes/fitness and fun rides I intend to use it for. I understand that I should be going in to be fitted for a bike at my LBS to get the most of everything. I wanted to ask the forum about a bike on ebay that I am interested in as I am looking at either a Trek DS or a Cannondale quick for my first newer purchase. If some of you could look at the listing and maybe tell me what they think about it...would I be really taking a shot in the dark at buying a bike online? Thanks in advance for any input you may have.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/291341106051?_trksid=p2060778.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Nice bike. It looks like the owner took care of it and cleaned it up for the sale. That's a plus.

The photos and description don't say much about it, though. No model level, no year. 8-speed cassette indicates older, or a low to midrange model. The current model it most resembles is the Quick CX 4, MSRP of $760. Another current model that looks comparable is Trek's 7.2FX Disc, msrp $599.99. Here's the link: http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/city/fitness/fx/7_2_fx_disc/. Out of the carton, the Cannondale appears to be spec'ed a little better for dirt roads, but that can be changed with different tires.

I sent some those questions to the seller about model, year, etc. because they weren't listed, as well as whether or not the fork was carbon. States he only rode it once so I am not sure what to make of that. Looks like he has some hybrid tires on it as well. I think I will just go to the LBS and get fitted/try bikes out, thank you very much for the input bobcat!