someone help me out?

i'm thirsty

Jun 30, 2003
i'm new to cycling - i've been a competitive runner for 2 years and recently started cycling as cross training, but i've come to like it. so now i'm checking out new bikes... i'm lost as to what i should buy and know some of the bike shop guys are trying to con me into bikes that cost more than they're worth. after all, some of the specialty running shoe stores tried the same thing with running shoes.

i'm looking at a hybrid bike with more of a focus towards the roads but one that is still tough on the trails (i've already had several very close encounters on the roads). i also don't have much money to blow on upgrades, etc. so i guess my question is... what type of bike $600 or lower would you guys suggest for someone who is starting out? any model suggestions, etc. would be appreciated. ideally, one with quick shift gears, too. i'm somewhere between 65-80 mpw (which i know is low compared to many), but i desperately need a bike.

thanks a lot.

What sort of trails are you talking about here? City bike paths or offroad-style gravel trails?

Hybrids aren't a bad choice if you mostly ride on city bike paths - I've owned one for about 5 years now (Giant Farrago), and it's been great for commuting and a bit of exercise. However any rides on gravel paths have been frustrating to say the least. The 700 x 38 tires just aren't up to it, hence I bought a mountain bike last week! I'm also saving up for a new road bike for weekend and fitness rides, but will likely keep the hybrid for commuting. I don't regret buying the hybrid, but I'm not entirely sure I'd buy it again given the same situation.