Someone Help ME!!!!

Seki

Aug 30, 2004
Hi all!

I was wanting some opinions on what I should do :confused:

I am getting into bike riding to try and get back into shape :p but I also would like to try some mtb in the near future, but for now, I am mostly going to use the bike on the street.

My friend just sold me a GT Zaskar LE for 100 bucks. I'm really not sure what year it is but it has a polished aluminum frame and i'm assuming that it is at least 8-10 years old. It is in relatively good condition as far as I can tell. (total noob here) It has shimano deore xt parts all around. Not sure on the model numbers but i know the shifters are M737's. The fork is a Rockshox Mag 21, and that's about all I know.

Problem: I know the frame is too tall for me! I stradle the top frame and it is up to my crotch with my feet flat.

Questions: How important is the fit for me? Should I keep the bike? or go out and buy a new one that is the right size?

I would appreciate any help!!! THANX

Seki said:
Hi all!

I am getting into bike riding to try and get back into shape :p but I also would like to try some mtb in the near future, but for now, I am mostly going to use the bike on the street.

My friend just sold me a GT Zaskar LE for 100 bucks. I'm really not sure what year it is but it has a polished aluminum frame and i'm assuming that it is at least 8-10 years old. It is in relatively good condition as far as I can tell. (total noob here) It has shimano deore xt parts all around. Not sure on the model numbers but i know the shifters are M737's. The fork is a Rockshox Mag 21, and that's about all I know.

Problem: I know the frame is too tall for me! I stradle the top frame and it is up to my crotch with my feet flat.

Questions: How important is the fit for me? Should I keep the bike? or go out and buy a new one that is the right size?