Sora Front Shifters or Derailer-Newbie Needs help

vchu7105

May 31, 2005
Trek 1000, Year 2005

I've had a problem with the front shifter or Derailer. I am new to road biking. When I shift (front Gears) down I always miss the middle gear and When I shift back up I miss the middle gears. I think the problem is when I shift down, I push the brakes in all the way, or when I shift up I push the lever down all the way. Should i just be pushing the brake or Lever just a bit to get to the middle gear? The Trek Dealor says I've been shifting all wrong. I should be only pushing the brake in just a bit or the lever just a bit to hit the middle gear. Does that sound right?

Doesn't sound right. Get your dealer to mount the bike in a trainer in his shop and show you what you are doing wrong. If he can't get it to shift properly, then you'll be able to convince him to make the adjustments that are needed. If he does get it to shift properly without making any adjustments, ask him to demonstrate so that you can learn how to make it work. It should shift smoothly with little effort. I suspect it needs some adjustment.

I have the Sora with a triple front. It needed an adjustment after the first month. 3500 miles later it still finds the gears effortlessly.

Good luck

i have a 2005 trek 1000 and the front derailleur is a piece of junk. i had similar problems and adjustments seemed to fix them but they always came back. your best bet is to get a 105 or ultegra triple braze on front derailleur and just have your local bike shop swap it out for you.

http://www.nashbar.com/profile.cfm?category=83&subcategory=1037&brand=&sku=8096

oh and one more thing, it's not a sora front derailleur. it's something like a 2203 (can't remember exactly what it's called) but it's definitely lower than sora.