Sore hands

Hawkeye_NZ

Jan 1, 2006
Hi all,

I've just moved from Mountain Biking to Road and I expected there to be a difference in the type of vibration you get through the handle bars. But I'm finding with my road bike that I'm getting sore hands after riding for no more than 15mins, on stone chipped roads. I'm using an old pair of Scott gloves I was using on my MTB and the discomfort goes away shortly after I stop riding but does this sound right and it's something you get used to after a while or is there something wrong with my setup or do I need new gloves?

I'm totally new to the road bike side of things so any advice would be great!

My dad had the same problem. He bought gloves that were much thicker and you could go to your local bike shop to buy a pair of dampeners that can be placed in the bars and they look like bar ends. My dad is about 230 and both of these things have helped him greatly. If this does not reduce the pain than you should go see a doctor.

Have you ever had a wrist injury or surgery.

Jeff

Hawkeye_NZ said:
Hi all,

I've just moved from Mountain Biking to Road and I expected there to be a difference in the type of vibration you get through the handle bars. But I'm finding with my road bike that I'm getting sore hands after riding for no more than 15mins, on stone chipped roads. I'm using an old pair of Scott gloves I was using on my MTB and the discomfort goes away shortly after I stop riding but does this sound right and it's something you get used to after a while or is there something wrong with my setup or do I need new gloves?

Try the K-wing handle bars by FSA.

Try raising your stem, but not beyond the maximum line. That will put more weight on your saddle (so try a Brooks saddle with springs) and less weight on your hands. If you need a very high stem, you can get a great one made by Nitto from Harris Cyclery, http://sheldonbrown.com/harris/stems/index.html. I use it.