Specialized Hardrock vs Gary Fisher Wahoo

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Sailh2o

I am a newbie to mountain biking and need help making a decision between a 2003 Specialized Hardrock
Comp and 2004 Gary Fisher Wahoo. I have test ridden both and really like them equally.

The price and components are the same, so it's just down to the minor details. Here are some
questions:

Which is the better brand? Which model will last longer? Is the Hardrock's 3D box tube truly better
or just a design ploy? Why would the Wahoo be any better or is it just the "Gary Fisher" brandname?

Other thoughts the Hardrock frame does look cool, however the new paint work on the new 2004 Wahoo
is out of this world!!! I do have both waiting for me already built in the store ready for me to
buy tomorrow.

Thanks for the help!!!!

Links: 2003 Specialized Hardrock Comp: http://www.specialized.com/SBCBkModel.jsp?san=03HardrockComp-
&bl=mountain&JServSessionIdroot=sba8otv3hs.j27002

2004 Gary Fisher Wahoo (Currently I have only seen the 2004 at the site below.)
http://goodalesbikeshop.com/site/page.cfm?PageID=222

2003 Gary Fisher Wahoo (for fyi):
http://www.fisherbikes.com/bikes/bike_detail.asp?series=classic&bike=Wahoo

> I am a newbie to mountain biking and need help making a decision between a 2003 Specialized
> Hardrock Comp and 2004 Gary Fisher Wahoo. I have test ridden both and really like them equally.
>
> The price and components are the same, so it's just down to the minor details. Here are some
> questions:
>
> Which is the better brand? Which model will last longer? Is the Hardrock's 3D box tube truly
> better or just a design ploy? Why would the Wahoo be any better or is it just the "Gary Fisher"
> brandname?

Ride them both - one will feel more 'comfortable' than the other - that is the model to go for...

> Which is the better brand? Which model will last longer? Is the Hardrock's 3D box tube truly