Speed Upgrade

dlfonner

Nov 19, 2006
I have been riding for a few months now on a Specialized Allez. What upgrades can I do to get speed? Thanks

dlfonner said:
I have been riding for a few months now on a Specialized Allez. What upgrades can I do to get speed? Thanks

Get yourself into better shape is the best way followed by improved position on the bike, but in the way of equipment, many people would suggest:

1. Lighter, more aero wheels.
2. Better tires

As above, plus loose some weight yourself (if you have some spare) plus ride more and get fitter!

Reduce the gross weight and have a professional bike fit,
fit 23mm quality tyres, (Conti)
check the gearing, a close ratio cassette with 52 or 53 tooth big ring.

Get a better engine. Nothing else really matters at the speeds most mortals go.

Everyone will tell you "wheelset", but I've never noticed a change in speed with change of wheels. Sure, some look much prettier than others...there is no limit to the amount that you can spend for minimal return, unless you're counting TT seconds.
In order:
1. training.
2. training.
3. training.
4. good fit (seat height, saddle, stem length and bar height)
5. tyres.

NB just riding the bike counts as "training".
Nothing much else will make the bike faster, but you can spend a lot making your bike look pretty...

artemidorus said:
Everyone will tell you "wheelset", but I've never noticed a change in speed with change of wheels. Sure, some look much prettier than others...there is no limit to the amount that you can spend for minimal return, unless you're counting TT seconds.
In order:
1. training.
2. training.
3. training.
4. good fit (seat height, saddle, stem length and bar height)
5. tyres.

NB just riding the bike counts as "training".
Nothing much else will make the bike faster, but you can spend a lot making your bike look pretty...
You are wrong here. it is

1. Good fit (what he said)
2. training using periodisation
3. training with a power monitor