SpeedPlay 2, the dismount.

dburr

Aug 19, 2006
I'm fairly new to biking, after 20 years of driving a car, I started in August of 2006. Sunday I did my 1st 100K for the Tour-de-Cure.:)
Anyway, in the middle of the ride, like mile 30 or so, was the big hill, and it was steep. I tried to dismount for alittle 30 second break and couldn't get out of the speedplays fast enough. Yup, I kissed the road, glad nobody saw me.
Is their a secret to get out fast? Other than not stopping on hills and keep climbing.:rolleyes: Their doesn't seem to be any adjustment for how far you need to twist your foot to pop out.

Thanks, Dan

There's panic lock switch. Under those situations, the more you want and need to unclip, the tighter it'll go.

Practice your unclipping action. Typically in a panic you'll stiffen up your leg and foot, and rather than a side rotation, you are unconsciously pulling up and making it impossible to disengage.

dburr said:
I'm fairly new to biking, after 20 years of driving a car, I started in August of 2006. Sunday I did my 1st 100K for the Tour-de-Cure.:)
Anyway, in the middle of the ride, like mile 30 or so, was the big hill, and it was steep. I tried to dismount for alittle 30 second break and couldn't get out of the speedplays fast enough. Yup, I kissed the road, glad nobody saw me.
Is their a secret to get out fast? Other than not stopping on hills and keep climbing.:rolleyes: Their doesn't seem to be any adjustment for how far you need to twist your foot to pop out.

Thanks, Dan

As you have discovered, speedplays require quite a bit of heel rotation to release. Practice to get a feel for how far you need to twist.

Also could be that you had some dirt or debris in your cleat that impaired the spring from releasing normally. Consider using cleat covers when off of the bike to keep the cleats clean.