Spoke failures

MattAussie66

Oct 12, 2004
I'm not light (93kg / 205#) and I have been using an omega19 rim with lotsa spokes (36) for a few years (10?) on the commute bike (freewheel) - originally built by campag - and I try to keep them reasonably true......

6 weeks back I broke a spoke, non-drive side - first one ever! :(
3 weeks back I broke a spoke, drive side :mad:
last night I broke a spoke, drive side :eek:

Do they all go at the same time? Why?
Will another one break in 3 weeks time?
Is it time for me to read all the wheelset threads?
(actually I have a superbe pro hub that is looking for a velocity OC rim :D)....

ttfn
Matt

The fact that they are breaking all at the same time, assuming that the wheel was built well with even tension, then I have to say that Campag's quality control and tolerance is phenomenal! The spokes have all reached their fatigue limit at the same time.

I'd go out and buy another Campag wheelset to replace it pronto! :D

Seriously though, it makes sense doesn't it? 10 years is a pretty good service life for a set of wheels. Maybe it's time for that major rebuild or just replace them.

MattAussie66 said:
I'm not light (93kg / 205#) and I have been using an omega19 rim with lotsa spokes (36) for a few years (10?) on the commute bike (freewheel) - originally built by campag - and I try to keep them reasonably true......

(actually I have a superbe pro hub that is looking for a velocity OC rim :D)....

ttfn
Matt

There are some knowledgable "wheel guys" on this forum. Hopefully they'll see your post and have an explanation for you. I can share a very similar experience that I had.