Spontanious severe cramping...

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by Halfnote, Oct 3, 2012.

1. Halfnote

Halfnote New Member

I ride on average about 130-140 miles a week. Most of it is commuting, I have about 750' ascent each way.

When I ride I usually ride hard. Zone 2 sometimes zone 1. every other day and recover ride between. I'm fit 6'1" 190 pounds. I hydrate really well, and take e-caps to supplement electrolyte loss.

I stretch a lot. Yesterday afternoon when I got home, I stretched as I always do.

Recently, I have had these terrible episodes of spontanious cramping in the middle of the night. Here it is now, 3:00am and I'm drinking water and taking endurolytes. I mean this is really severe. My quads and hamstrings woke me up cramped like a rock, jeez very painful. HELP!

I mix up my riding as I said, but I'm not riding any different than I was over the past few months.

Could it be that I'm over training?

Tags:

2. GraceB

GraceB New Member

I am not an expert, but I would speak with your doctor. Riding in zone 2 is not really riding hard (zone 2 is about 70-75% of Max HR and is often toted as a recommended level of exercise especially for beginners). What you are experiencing does not sound normal and I would have it checked out.

3. Halfnote

Halfnote New Member

Thanks Grace,

I'm going to call her this morning.

Actually I was wrong, I ride in Zone1 about 50-60% of my commute Zone 2 about 30% The rest is stops, or rolling in traffic. I have seen my doctor, who is a cyclist too. She says that she thinks I'm not hydrating enough because I'm as healthy and strong as can be. (Just had a full workup in July.) She kids me and says she wishes that her other patients would start riding too.

I have been drinking a lot of water, but maybe not enough during recovery. As I write this, I just arrived at my office. I rode this morning 13miles in 39:27. Which is about average, maybe even a few seconds faster.