Sports writer researching nutrition article

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Greg Connors

I am a sports writer for the daily newspaper in Buffalo, N.Y. I am researching a story on sports
nutrition, and I am interested in hearing from anyone who is familiar with any cutting-edge
approaches to nutrition and sports performance. I find the best-selling sports nutrition books
mostly recommend the FDA food pyramid, but how does the Atkins diet approach fit in for athletes? Or
are there other new approaches worth exploring? I'd appreciate direct e-mail replies to:
[email protected]. My deadline is the end of this week, May 30, 2003. Thanks.

>From: [email protected] (Greg Connors)

>I am a sports writer for the daily newspaper in Buffalo, N.Y. I am researching a story on sports
>nutrition, and I am interested in hearing from anyone who is familiar with any cutting-edge
>approaches to nutrition and sports performance. I find the best-selling sports nutrition books
>mostly recommend the FDA food pyramid<<

No they don't. Are you on crack?

During an interview with Dr. Atkins on Larry King, a caller called in questioning the atkins
approach, and made the point about marathon runners eating high carb diets, and are very lean. Dr.
Atkins replied that with the amount of training world class marathoners carry out, they need all the
carbs. He also said normal people could eat up to 100 or more grams of carbs a day based on their
level of activity, after they have reached their preferred weight.

The Larry King Interview might be a potential source of research.

"Greg Connors" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> I am a sports writer for the daily newspaper in Buffalo, N.Y. I am researching a story on sports
> nutrition, and I am interested in hearing from anyone who is familiar with any cutting-edge
> approaches to nutrition and sports performance. I find the best-selling sports nutrition books