SRM or PT SL Wheel Upgrade?

JIM WV

Aug 13, 2005
Need some thoughts. I've been using a PT SL built with the open pro for about 8 months. Great tool, wish I had this available years ago. Like lots of folks, got the PT thinking that I would just train with it and use all of my "other" wheels for races . . . . after years of training via RPE or HR now I am addicted to power and see the definite benefit to racing with it, which I have already done.

I know that the open pro is not a particularly heavy wheel -- that said there are ones that are lighter and/or far more aero (some of which I already own). Since I own a number of wheelsets, I've been thinking about getting an SRM on my race bike and keeping the PT on the bike I use for training. I've also been considering getting a new "all around" race wheelset (like a Zipp 303 or 404) and staying with the PT, although the cost of a Zipp PT wheelset is getting into the same neighborhood as an SRM (could recoup some by selling some old wheels, hubs)

My questions: Understand that the SRM and PT readings vary a bit as the SRM measures crank/PT the hub -- but is it enough to throw off training zones? Does anyone else mix and match metering technology without problems in data analysis, etc.?

Probably ought to avoid the issue and just keep racing that Open Pro wheel 'till it dies . . . Thanks in advance.