SST clarification

ccrnnr9

May 5, 2004
(I originally posted as a reply to another thread but then figured it was more appropriate here as a new thread)

I am new to the SST way of thinking so I want to ask some questions for clarification:

According to the FastCat Coaching website that someone linked to, SST is balancing intensity and endurance training with the goal to increase an athlete's FTP? According to that website, it defines the SST as being done between HL2 and L4. How can one translate into HR training (or is that even possible)?

Also, if my previous interpretation of SST is true, I am confused as to what is so different or groundbreaking about the whole concept. I was always under the assumption that this WAS the technique best used for building base. Is this new school of thought saying this should take place of the "preparation" phase that many people do in the winter that includes more time off the bike, training on the bike that is low intensity and longer duration, and cross training in other disciplines?

If someone could clear these questions up for me, I think I may have a better idea of what SST actually is.
Thanks,
Nick

ccrnnr9 said:
How can one translate into HR training (or is that even possible)?
Simply use heart rate zones. Better yet, go ride at a steady-hard pace. The shorter the ride, the harder you go, and vice versa.

ccrnnr9 said:
Also, if my previous interpretation of SST is true, I am confused as to what is so different or groundbreaking about the whole concept.
Nick
Absolutely nothing. It's a lot like what lydiard suggested for years in running.

Most cyclists believe in a period of really easy riding, cross training, "base," whatever, which is a great way to waste valuable training time. Some others, including myself at one point, go the opposite way and look for magic bullets through hyper-precise intervals workouts.

whoawhoa said: