Stamina and speed

Belovedad

Mar 27, 2016
Does anyone know what type of training I could do to increase my speed with stamina over time? I want to get better at long distances but I also want to be able to in quicker times.

Sounds like you need a proper structured training plan. If you don't mind doing a lot of your training indoors then the Trainerroad training plans are superb. I've had excellent results using their plans.

I am not a pro when it comes to training and I admit that I know so little. However, let me relate what I know in training horses for cyclists are practically in the same field - racing. My father who was a trainer would start slow for long distances, meaning the training is not too harsh but it builds stamina. After that, the horse can run a mile but slower. The miler training for stamina (slow) is mixed with the half-mile training for speed. I just cannot tell the formula for a person but I think it would work.

That something wise, we should try out different things and then follow with the one that works best for us.

Does anyone know what type of training I could do to increase my speed with stamina over time? I want to get better at long distances but I also want to be able to in quicker times.
Unless you are professional level, you can increase both your speed and stamina.

The simple way is to try to ride faster and try to ride further. After a while you will be able to determine what works best.

Unless you are professional level, you can increase both your speed and stamina.

The simple way is to try to ride faster and try to ride further. After a while you will be able to determine what works best.

LOL - A bit hit and miss in my opinion. A well structured training plan than has a balance of intervals, easier workouts, endurance workouts and adequate recovery will get you going faster and longer in a reasonable amount of time.