Started riding

razor244

Jun 11, 2010
i used to ride bmx and mtb's as my only for of travel till i was 17. im new to road bikes. now what my question is i see people talking about spending $2000 on a bike to get started. im just wondering the drawbacks or whats wrong with the gravity ave b for 279$(i think it was that much). i ride around 15 to 20 miles a day for exercise and to beat my own times . im just wondering because some people say down the road you will wish u just spend more to start . i know my buddy bought a gary fisher to start and that was a pretty penny.

Razor, you just need to ride the bike that you like and can afford. The most important element of cycling is the rider themself, not the bike.

If you are thinking of buying a new bike, the first thing I would do is ride as many different bikes as you can to see what they are like.

Then narrow down the bikes you have ridden by your budget, how well they are equiped, and how well you like them. Don't worry about getting a super fancy bike just because someone else did, but get the best bike you can for the money you have to spend.

Problem is with buying a expensive bike to start is that good intentions go bad for most people, and then their $2000 good intention bike hangs in their garage as art for the next 40 years or so then they sell it in a garage sale for pennies on the dollar. The same is true with folks buying gym equipment for their house and they use it for 2 to 6 months and the equipment sets collecting dust for the next 40 years.