started training with power

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by Mac_Biker, Jan 3, 2011.

1. Mac_Biker

Mac_Biker New Member

I started training with power last fall on and off. I've noticed some improvement.

And now I'm wanting to get serious about it so that I won't get dropped at races.
    Currently I'm 145 pounds. Almost all of my measurements are indoor on a fluid trainer.
    It's been cold out here in St. Louis.

My best 20min effort is 210 watts, which equates to 203 FTP.
    5 min 221
    1 min 351

I've been doing a lot of workouts for the last couple of weeks at 190 watts (Sweet spot) for 20 minute intervals. I wanted to test my FTP yesterday, but mentally I could not do it. I was holding about 220 watts, but after 5 minutes, I couldn't do it anymore. Not sure if it was physical, mental or both. I'll try to measure my FTP again at the end of January.

I believe my weakness is in overall FTP but also a lack of high end power. I believe my 5s max is somewhere just shy of 900 watts. And my 1 min power is even worse. My cadence is also lacking, I usually average in the 70-80's.

My plan of attack is to build up my FTP as much as I can through January and then start working on the high end power Feb-> Onwards.

Ideally I would like my FTP to be much higher, maybe the 220-250 range. (Just pulling numbers out of the air).

What FTP is usually necessary to avoid getting dropped in?
    What should I be working on?
    Thanks.

Tags:

2. daveryanwyoming

daveryanwyoming Well-Known Member

How much power you need to race effectively depends on a lot of things including the type of racing and for mass start events how well you ride in the group. Ironically a more experienced rider can get away with less power than a newer racer that isn't drafting as effectively, lets gaps open up or spends too much time out in the wind pulling.