starting training - need help

foild1

Aug 30, 2005
Hello everyone!
i have been riding now for about 3 months, i ride aprx. 25 - 30 miles every 2 days - i live a busy schedual, and this is all i can fit in - however, i would like to start riding "smart" and training more insted of just simply riding for 2 hours.. catch my drift?

can someone please give me a point on these two things?

A) when starting a hill climb (aprx a 3 - 4 minute climb) i have heard to get your cadence as high as possible before entering the hill, then as soon as you start riding up the hill, shift into a harder gear, stand up and peddle for as long as possible, and then continue up the hill in a easier gear sitting down - is this a good method to work on, or can someone explain to me a better method

B) i only have a cyclometer, and i am interested in getting a power meter, or a computer with cadence integration. I am still unsure though how to use a power meter and or a cadence monitor.. can someone tell me how?

Thanks!

Cam

foild1 said:
A) when starting a hill climb (aprx a 3 - 4 minute climb) i have heard to get your cadence as high as possible before entering the hill, then as soon as you start riding up the hill, shift into a harder gear, stand up and peddle for as long as possible, and then continue up the hill in a easier gear sitting down - is this a good method to work on, or can someone explain to me a better method