Road Cycling · Public discussion

Statement on Spam and VoteNader.org

Started by ken · · Last activity · 3 posts · 443 views

Thread details

What we know about this thread

Original section
Road Cycling
Published
9 April 2004
Last activity
9 April 2004
Original author
ken
Posts
3
Discussion status
Public discussion
Total views
443
Views / 30 days
0

The navigation and discussion metadata provide context. Posts remain in their original chronological order.

Showing posts 1–3 of 3
Posts remain in their original chronological order.

Text size
  1. Spam from VoteNader.org? (Or naderexplore04.org)

    You may have received spam email recently that appears to
    come from our campaign, or be about our campaign -- perhaps
    the "From" and or "Reply-to" addresses look like they are
    coming from VoteNader.org. Or perhaps you have received a
    message that appears to come from an individual (if the
    address is real, the real owner probably did not send this
    email either) with suppressed recipients. Or maybe you
    received an email that appeared to come from yourself
    promoting our site.

    These messages are NOT from Nader for President 2004,
    and these email tactics are NOT condoned by our campaign
    in any way.

    UPDATE: Some of the latest forged emails have been made to
    appear to be coming from naderexplore04.org. Again, we are
    not responsible for this unfortunate abuse of email, and
    there is little in the technical sense that we can do to
    prevent this as it has nothing to do with our actual
    infrastructure. We are collecting information.

    NOTE: The emails with malicious code (viruses, worms, etc.)
    often have attachments. Our campaign will NEVER send
    attachments in our announcement emails to you. Please
    be sure that you have anti-virus software and have the
    latest updates available for your anti-virus software.

    Our hosting service has alerted us to say that Nader for
    President 2004 appears to be the target of what is called
    a "Joe Job." Such an event is where a spammer forges email
    to make it appear to have come from some other domain
    (such as ours -- or yourself). This is hard to prevent on
    our end and part of the insecure nature of the email
    protocol in general.

    Members of our actual email list must request to receive
    email from us (either through Ralph's signup sheets or
    subscribing during our exploratory phase, or now on our
    campaign site). When one signs up for email they must reply
    to a confirmation message before they receive our list
    announcements.

    Our public announcement emails come from
    "[email hidden]," contain a "Paid for by Nader for
    President 2004" statement at the bottom, and have
    "[email hidden]" in the "To:" header.
    Unfortunately, some of these indicators can be forged as
    well.

    Most of the Spam that we have received complaints about
    appear to be forged from email addresses not associated
    with votenader.org (often forged to appear to be coming
    from government email addresses), and have our website
    code embedded in the body of the email with hidden tags
    that contain random words that work to subvert anti-
    spam software.

    If you are on our lists, you can ALWAYS unsubscribe at ANY
    time by following the instructions included at the end of
    our announcements. You can also use our unsubscribe page
    using the email address you signed up with.

    If you are receiving this SPAM, we extend our apologies.

    We will pursue the spammers to the full extent of the law.

    For more information, please review these resources:

    How Do I Determine the Source of an Email? aota.-aota.-
    net/Email_Spam_Prevention_and_Mgmt/emailsource.php4

    Why Does This Spam Look Like I Sent It? aota.net-aota.net-
    /Email_Spam_Prevention_and_Mgmt/spamfrom.php4

    Coping with a Joe Job sitepoint.comsabotage coping joe
    job/2

    Please contact [email hidden] with any questions. We
    have received many samples of the spam and are working to
    identify the source, if possible.

    Volunteer --------------
    votenader.orgindex.php Ballot
    Access ----------
    votenader.orgindex.php Register to
    Vote ------- rockthevote.comrtv register.php
    Contribute -------------
    votenader.orgindex.php Contact Us -------------
    votenader.orgindex.php

    --
    (IFCO). is
    our fiscal sponsor." Fiscal sponsorship by IFCO means Not In Our Name
    receives donations that are tax deductible because of IFCO's 501c(3)
    (charitable, federal tax-exempt) status. IFCO charges a fee for this
    service.

    Why is NION not a 501c(3)?

    Donations to NION/IFCO are then mailed to the Women's International League
    for Peace and Freedom (WILPF), which is located at 339 Lafayette Street in
    New York City. The address is the same as NION's. The intimate nature of a
    financial partnership shows how closely aligned these two organizations are.
    And that's scary, because the Women's International League for Peace and
    Freedom has been associated with Communist causes since its inception. Molly
    Klopot of the WILPF is a NION organizer. The WILPF is related to IFCO as
    well as NION. Marilyn Clement, who is the Executive Director of WIPLF, is
    the Treasurer of IFCO.

    The building where the offices of NION, the WILPF and the War Resisters
    League are located is known as the "Peace Pentagon," and is owned by the
    A.J. Muste Memorial Institute. A.J. Muste was a "peace" advocate who
    compiled frequent flier miles visiting Hanoi during the Vietnam War era. The
    Muste Foundation funds groups like the War Resisters League, School of the
    Americas Watch, Nicaragua Solidarity Network, International Peace bureau,
    International Fellowship of Reconciliation, Coalition for Human Rights of
    Immigrants, and WILPF.

    NION: Castro and Islamist Terror

    The Interreligous Foundation for Community Organization is a p

  2. SO YOU SPAM EVERY NEWSGROUP WITH THIS [censored]?

    Mike Yankee

    (Address is munged to thwart spammers. To reply, delete
    everything after "com".)

  3. On 09 Apr 2004 01:45:23 GMT, [email hidden] (MikeYankee)

    Quoted message said:

    SO YOU SPAM EVERY NEWSGROUP WITH THIS [censored]?

    Of course, the Usenet spam could be the *actual* 'Joe-job'.

Active in the last 60 minutes

Active in this thread

0 users · 0 guests ·0 bots ·0 total

No signed-in users are active right now.

No known search crawlers active right now.