Stem Replacement

davepen

May 31, 2010
Hi everyone,
i am starting a project within the next few weeks to convert an old mountain bike into a road bike. Unfortunately at the minute the bike is at my dads and i have no way of getting there to take measurements so i can buy new parts. Its a DiamondBack Topanga (approximately 1992/93 model). I want to purchase a new stem but cant get to it, to see whether it takes a 1 inch or a 1 1/8 inch stem. As you can probably tell, im a novice, so any help would be much appreciated!
I am also wanting to spray this bike so any help with that would also help, Thanks again.
Cheers guys. Davepen

davepen said:
Hi everyone,
i am starting a project within the next few weeks to convert an old mountain bike into a road bike. Unfortunately at the minute the bike is at my dads and i have no way of getting there to take measurements so i can buy new parts. Its a DiamondBack Topanga (approximately 1992/93 model). I want to purchase a new stem but cant get to it, to see whether it takes a 1 inch or a 1 1/8 inch stem. As you can probably tell, im a novice, so any help would be much appreciated!
I am also wanting to spray this bike so any help with that would also help, Thanks again.
Cheers guys. Davepen

It's probably a 1 1/8" since I think it's OX tubing; but can your dad take it to a bike shop to make sure, or can you buy one then if it's not the correct size return it for the other if it doesn't fit?

Yea i could, i got my dad to measure it once i could get hold of him out of word and he seems to think its a 1inch.
I was going to buy a stem from ebay you see, found one that was good for the price.
Cheers

i am starting a project within the next few weeks to convert an old mountain bike into a road bike

Sounds interesting as an exercise but there are some serious differences beween the design of MTB and roadies which will lead to big compromises in how it rides. They include (but may not be limited to):