steps in installing front derailleur

mattjf

Jul 31, 2005
I had a few problems with my front derailleur, a Shimano Sora on a rode bike, which lead me to take it off. I now need to install it back on, but am having problems. This is my first road bike and I am just learning how to do repairs.

I have clamped it back on the bike and measured the height off the largest chainring. The outer part of the cage is also parallel to the large chainring. The problem I am having is I cannot get it to shift in all gears without it rubbing on the cage. For instance, if I get it set where it works on the outside chainring, if I shift to the smallest chaingring, it will rub on the cage. It's also possible the cable tension is incorrect. In what order should I set things? For instance: make cable reasonably tight, set low limit screw, set high limit screw, adjust cable tension. Would this be the correct order, or some other way? Any tips you could provide would be appreciated.

-Matt

mattjf said:
I had a few problems with my front derailleur, a Shimano Sora on a rode bike, which lead me to take it off. I now need to install it back on, but am having problems. This is my first road bike and I am just learning how to do repairs.

I have clamped it back on the bike and measured the height off the largest chainring. The outer part of the cage is also parallel to the large chainring. The problem I am having is I cannot get it to shift in all gears without it rubbing on the cage. For instance, if I get it set where it works on the outside chainring, if I shift to the smallest chaingring, it will rub on the cage. It's also possible the cable tension is incorrect. In what order should I set things? For instance: make cable reasonably tight, set low limit screw, set high limit screw, adjust cable tension. Would this be the correct order, or some other way? Any tips you could provide would be appreciated.

-Matt