Still haven't solved the gearing/cadence puzzle

Denny418

Dec 28, 2005
When I started training seriously and entering time trials six years ago, I seemed to do my best when I was at about 95 rpm. As I got stronger and more experienced, my "natural" rpm went down to about 85. Last week I decided to do an experiment and did my intervals at about 75 rpm - and I was even faster than usual, and I've repeated that result a couple of times since. So it's not a fluke.

75 seems like it's just too low a cadence, but I can't argue with the results. And it feels fine. Has anyone else found their cadence decreasing (or increasing) over the years?

Yes, but I'm not sure it's related to aging as much as training history and simply being willing to swim against the current of popular belief.

I still race mass start events with relatively light gears and high cadences but during TTs and weekly Threshold training sessions I'm sustaining higher power, covering more distance in the same time or decreasing time for TTs by slamming bigger gears. And yep, my cadence drops but my results are better and riding TTs like that hasn't hampered my ability to ride crits or track at higher cadences.

Until this season I typically chose gears that kept me up in the 95-105 rpm range during flat TTs. My average cadence for my last TT a couple of weeks ago was 78 and it earned me a podium spot and an average power within a couple of watts of my best ever for that duration which I don't generally manage on the TT bike in the aero bars.

I suspect it's a very individual thing but definitely worth playing with in training to see what yields the fastest time/highest sustained power. It takes some faith to plug along in big gears feeling like you're pedaling in tar but at least for me it seems to be working.

-Dave

Thanks for you post, Dave, it's comforting to know that someone else has had a similar progression.