Strange HRM readings

Discussion in 'Australia and New Zealand' started by Andy, May 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Andy

Andy Guest

A few months back I purchased a Polar S510 but I seem to think that the results I get are too
    high. I am 29, not the fittest around but when running if I try stay within the zones the pace
    seems to slow for
    me. I find a comfortable pace has my heart around 170. Then this morning while cycling through a
    pretty tough section it said my max heart rate was 228!

I am pretty new to this but it just doesn't seem right to me. Does anyone have any thoughts on what
    going on here. Could this be due to interference, or does that simply result in no readings. Any
    help appreciated.

Tags:

2. Andy wrote:
    > A few months back I purchased a Polar S510 but I seem to think that the results I get are too
    > high. I am 29, not the fittest around but when running if I try stay within the zones the pace
    > seems to slow for
    > me. I find a comfortable pace has my heart around 170. Then this morning while cycling through a
    > pretty tough section it said my max heart rate was 228!
    >
    > I am pretty new to this but it just doesn't seem right to me. Does anyone have any thoughts on
    > what going on here. Could this be due to interference, or does that simply result in no readings.
    > Any help appreciated.

The 228 is caused by outside interference. It's a real pain in the arse, screws up the averages for
    your session. See if it happens at the same spot next time your are going past, you may have to
    change your route to avoid it. Not much else you can do. I think they arrived at the 228 figure
    based on the standard MAX HR = 228 - age , so in simple terms nobody is expected to have a max HR
    greater than 228 .. of course this is a generalisation.

The worst blackspot for me is the Sydney Harbour Bridge .. the train lines run next to the bike