stripped bolts

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by red_october, Sep 27, 2003.

1. red_october

red_october New Member

I am a beginner and I really don't know the terminology for this....but here goes. I need to change my front fork, but the bolt on the top of my stem (that really long bolt) had a little rust on it and when i tried to unscrew it with my alien key, it just stripped. (The top of it became circular instead of diamond shaped) Is there a substance that I can put onto that circular hole so that bolt bites again? I really need to get it out, but my key just spins through it. I was thinking of maybe getting a key one size bigger and hammering it into the bolt, but I think that can damage my bike. There has got to be something out there that can help me with this.

Thx

James

Tags:

2. ireman_1

ireman_1 New Member

There are a few schools of thought on this, but if you have stripped the allen bolt my advice would be to go to Sears or ANY hardware store you are comfortable with and ask then for a bolt/screw extracter. You can put the bit into your drill and run it backwards. The bit bites into the bolt without drilling into it and "should" get the bolt started on it's way out, hopefully. There are some "break free products out there as well, but they are not my preference, but lots of people like them. Good luck.

K.

3. red_october

red_october New Member

thank you very much for your reply. You wouldnt know the name of at least one break free product would you? I just need to know the name of one and I think I can research all of them from this one name.

p.s. is there something i can put on the bolts to prevent them from rusting?

4. ireman_1

ireman_1 New Member