Stupid question :P, but can you change the hubs on a bike???

Kez Deale

Jan 15, 2004
Hey all...

Can you change the hubs on a bike??

I am a complete noob to Bike componentry... but I am assuming that the HUBS on a bike, are the aquivalent of the Axel in a car???

Just wondering, as there is a bike I looked at on a website....

www.feltracing.com.... and the area next to "F/HUB" and "R/HUB" were empty?!?!?!?

So Thanks :D

Kez

Originally posted by Kez Deale
Hey all...

Can you change the hubs on a bike??

I am a complete noob to Bike componentry... but I am assuming that the HUBS on a bike, are the aquivalent of the Axel in a car???

Just wondering, as there is a bike I looked at on a website....

www.feltracing.com.... and the area next to "F/HUB" and "R/HUB" were empty?!?!?!?

So Thanks :D

Kez
Built bikes come with wheels that include hubs. In most cases hubs can be replaced by rebuilding the wheel.

That's pretty much how it goes. You also might want to think of a home computing analogy -- wheels and wheel components often fall into catgories not unlike laptops and desktops.

Some wheel components are like desktop PC parts -- ie, they're readily sold and distributed in standardized units that you can select and have combined with compatible parts to form a working wheel. Shimano, Campy, and a number of other parts makers sell hubs precisely for this purpose. Shops often build them to order; you can build them yourself if you like. You might ride with a guy using Mavic Open Pro rims with Shimano Ultegra or Dura Ace hubs -- that's a common training setup. Builds with Chris King, American Classic, Velocity and Campy parts are out there too. You can have these parts interchanged, if you want, but like boudreaux said, doing so is taking the wheel apart and rebuilding it.