Supplements...Necessary or Not??

RalleighOke

Jan 29, 2003
Is supplements necessary or not?

By taking supplements, are we not in fact weakening our body by giving it artificial "power". Surely we can get our necessary nutrients from our daily meals.

I'm not an expert in this field, but I have never used supplements and just want to know if it is in fact such a necessity for cycling.

If it is so what supplements would you recommend or what are you currently using that's working for you.

My viewpoint always have been that doing it natural will strengten the body rather than "supplementing" it.

What is your views and opinion?

That really depends on the nutritional value of what you consider to be your daily meals. Most of the people I work with have some sarmies during the day, which they "supplement" with a packet of crisps and a Coke. At night, they pop over the road for McDonalds and ice-cream. I know very few people that bring fruits and veggies to work along with their sarmies or other grub for the day.
The majority of people don't eat the right foods or combination of foods. As an athlete, you need to be more conscientious of what, when and how you eat if you want to improve your performance. Many athletes use supplements such as protein, but whether you need any supplementation or not can only be established thro the analysis of your eating plan done by a dietician or nutritionlist.

Me lika theee pasta!!

That's about a mouthful, I didn't know you needed to see a dietician to establish that...Shows you, you learn new things everyday.

Thanks for that info Vo2, as for me, I'll keep on "supplementing" my system with nice Pizza, Chips, Castle :D and then work it off the following morning....just joking.

It can frequently be VERY hard to get enough protein in ones diet to satify the requirements of a hard ride or workout. This is especially true for vegetairans. I do use protein powder, but that's about it.

Originally posted by Spire