Suspend or not? Plus trike q's.

Discussion in 'Recumbent bicycles' started by Ian, Jun 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ian

Ian Guest

I have been riding a rear suspension only Challenge Wizard for a couple of years, but due to an old
    knee injury am switching to a trike, I already have a non suspension Kett Weizel and find with the
    mesh seat that this is more comfortable than the 2 wheeler even though I then had a rear shock. I
    plan on going for a tadpole trike, what are peoples thoughts on suspension on trikes?

Also it may be my imagination, and it may only be here in the U.K. but it seems that the general
    reaction to a recumbent trike is better than a recumbent bike, on the Wizard I got mixed responses
    from pedestrians, from very positive right through to very negative, however since switching to the
    trike I have experienced no negativity, at church on Sunday morning in fact I was giving rides to
    all and sundry.

I am planning to start selling trikes as a business, I used to work as a cycle engineer years
    ago and do all my own servicing, repairs etc... as well as a lot of other peoples, I think the
    resistance to adult trikes is more or less non existant in the U.K., how are they viewed in
    the U.S.A.?

Ian

Tags:

2. Having NO suspension on a Tadpole is a waste of a Tadpole, your frame won't ssurvive the abuse from
    the roads and Rail Trails.

As for how well are trikes (tadpoles) being received in North America...dunno, I ride in Toronto and
    no one seems to notice I am riding just above their knees.
    --------------------------------------
    "Ian" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:BB26229F.7DC1%[email protected]...
    > I have been riding a rear suspension only Challenge Wizard for a couple of years, but due to an
    > old knee injury am switching to a trike, I already
    have