Talking to the HoH

G

Gmld3805

Internet search engines identify many sites that list articles and other sources on 'hard-of-hearing
(HoH) in its various forms and the diseases' often disastrous effects on their victims, including
suicide. There isn’t much guidance in the media for the ‘normal hearing’ in the healthcare
world and generally on how to best speak to or otherwise coommunicate with the hearing-disabled,
especially in a manner that what is 'said' will be reasonably well understood by the patient.

I am an 87 years old layman who has been hearing-disabled since my middle years. Several years ago,
guided by a retired professional speech therapist and teacher who had been formerly associated with
a school district, I compiled a list of hints to normal-hearing persons who talk to and/or otherwise
interact with the HoH. The 'hints' in my list are in the 'public domain.' I compile and disseminate
them as a personal volunteer effort and not in competition with anyone else's product on the
subject. Content of the list does not - and does not intend to - offer medical advice.

Following are excerpts.

Introduction

The population of ‘older adults’ is growing worldwide, and many of the elderly are hearing-
disabled. The HoH and deaf phenomena, however, affect all ages and both genders, and children too,
everywhere. Interactions and communications within and among families, friends, students of all ages
and their teachers, and professionals in healthcare, education, business and commerce, etc., will
develop accordingly. It is important for the ‘normal-hearing’ person, whatever their interest,
to understand 'how to ...' and to practice the best possible oral and other forms of one-to-one and
group communications with the HoH. If nothing else, it's just good business. I've periodically
updated and posted these hints to the Internet. Please pass them along to others, on-line and off-,