Tell me about this bike ...

CNC2203

Sep 4, 2014
http://www.cyclesuk.com/10586093/products/specialized-roubaix-sl4-elite-disc-2015-road-bike-carcoal-and-white.aspx

No, the bike above is an 11 speed SRAM with hyro brakes at $2800 vs the base mech disc model which is a 9 speed SORA for 2K.

Same purchase, different bike. For some, buying a bike apparently requires full consensus of the group.

Here's my take. For some, SRAM is a deal breaker. Personally, I've been double-tapping for almost two years and I think it's worth every cent. Regarding the brakes, the first generation of Avid (SRAM owns Avid) road hydro brakes had serious problems and were recalled. SRAM has replaced them with a newly engineered product line that reportedly corrects the problems, but many have not forgotten or forgiven. That said, SRAM responds quickly and quite liberally to warranty issues.

Personally, I think disc brakes on a road bike are a lot of overhead (weight, wind resistance, expense, and over-engineering) for something that gets used so little. Naturally, my opinion is influenced by where and how I ride. And then there are some who find that the superior control, modulation, and immediate response in the wet trumps all that overhead. They have a point.

Thanks, i like that ...
big-smile.png

http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bikes/road/tarmac/tarmac-elite

How bout this one ... ?

That's a lot of money for 105 without even a full group (no crank). Again, Specialized is a groupset down from everyone else for the same money.

Originally Posted by AyeYo
That's a lot of money for 105 without even a full group (no crank). Again, Specialized is a groupset down from everyone else for the same money.
The TARMAC Elite crank is the Praxis works TURN Zayante BB30 52/36.
Bottom bracket on this bike wont accommodate a 105 crank because its oversized and a different type of bearing.