Testing individual leg strength

Yonni

May 1, 2010
Hi, complete power newbie here.

I've been reading David Millar's autobiography (great read BTW whether you like or loathe him) and he talks about getting almost the same "power curves" from his right and left legs. Would this be from a pro piece of kit in a testing lab or do all power meters based on cranks give individual data for each leg? I've never seen any software or data from a power meter so patronise me all you like. Idon't know how they work. I'm well aware that my right leg is much stronger than my left and wonder if I could find out how much with a power meter and then do specific training to rectify this and monitor the situation?

Thoughts?

You could ride a bike using only one leg.

But I don't know what benefit it is to have both legs the same strength.

I'm not trying to get both legs exactly equal but in theory the closer matched they are in power the better your core stability and the more overall power you would produce. This would probably be most noticeable on hill climbs where the stress on your core is often higher on the steeper sections. I would also expect time to fatigue to be extended. This is my guess but no one out there seems interested so ho hum, I'll go ask a fitness guru.

Originally Posted by Yonni .

I'm not trying to get both legs exactly equal but in theory the closer matched they are in power the better your core stability and the more overall power you would produce. This would probably be most noticeable on hill climbs where the stress on your core is often higher on the steeper sections. I would also expect time to fatigue to be extended. This is my guess but no one out there seems interested so ho hum, I'll go ask a fitness guru.
Due to a car accident I seem to have an imbalance in my legs. I never considered that the imbalance was hindering my cycling. But ...