The "Century" Is In Miles or Kilometers?

Discussion in 'The Bike Cafe' started by rtsy, Sep 16, 2003.

1. rtsy

rtsy New Member

Obviously, I am an absolute newbie. So be patient with me, please.

Also, for a first timer, what's a good target time for the century? Thanks!

Tags:

2. ohiojeff

ohiojeff New Member

in the USA a century is 100 miles, and we call 100k a metric century, so i guess it depends on the context and where you are from...

as far as time, it varies so much depending on the rout and whether that is hard to say. i will say that you should make sure to take your breaks, stay well within your own pace, and conserve energy. i did my first one in around 5 hours, stopping at the food stops every 25 or so miles, and resting to let my legs recover.

3. Canucklehead

Canucklehead New Member

5 hours is a pretty decent time ohiojeff - but, as you have pointed out, it depends on whether you are talking about a metric century or U.S. century (miles). I did my first century (miles) this past summer on my mountain bike in 8 hours. Yes, I'm new to the sport as well, am somewhat older (45) and did it on my mounatin bike. There were some folks who did it in 5 or 6 hours, and there were also some that came in at 9 or 10 hours. All depends on what you're out there for, what the course is like, etc. etc. A most enjoyable experience though - highly recommended. Good luck!

4. berzins

berzins New Member

A Century not only has a mandatory distance component, but a mandatory time component as well. It is my understanding that you have to complete 100 miles in less than 10 hours for it to be called a "Century." If you cycle 100 miles in 11 hours, it is called "cycling 100 miles in 11 hours."

As for Double Centuries, it is my understanding that you have to complete 200 miles in a 24-hour period.

5. Triplecentury

Triplecentury New Member