The cyclists training bible. Joe friel.

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by credit_agro, Dec 12, 2006.

1. credit_agro

credit_agro New Member

Hi,
    I only started cycling in October. I got this book a few days and have most of it read by now. As im a beginner and have never raced before its difficult for me to gauge a few things. Firstly, how many hours should I do annually. What would be considered high intensity for me and what would be considered high duration? As soon as I find out these things im 90% there to having a training plan. Im 22, have been sedate for the last few years. Im in general good health. In the last few weeks I have been doing 10 miles 1 or 2 days a week and then about 60-80km on a Saturday. I can manage the 60-80km but I do be quite tired afterwards. I have loads of time in the evenings and weekends to train. I could train 2-3hrs on any weekday. I could train any amount of hours at the weekend.
    Of course, I won't be using all these hours as it would be overtraining but I just want to get an idea for training and starting of at Base1. Guys, I know theres so many variables involved and I haven't the experience here to make a decision on this myself, so if you can give me ballpark figures or something to work from. In the first year, Im not expecting much from myself but to rack up experience. Hopefully, then next year I will be in a much better position to make this decision myself.

And also, when I will be doing my Base1 basic endurance training should I be working in 60-70% of MHR or 70-80%?

Tags:

2. 531Aussie

531Aussie Well-Known Member