The Experience of Touring

tompotter110

Dec 27, 2010
[SIZE= 12px]Hi Guys[/SIZE]

[SIZE= 14px]My name is Tom Potter, i am an undergraduate social research student based at Oxford Brookes University as well as a keen cyclist on and off the track. I am currently writing a thesis based on cycle touring as a modern form of mobility, and the ability of cycle touring to link locations, instead of mearly passing them by. I aim to try and understand the landscape experiences of the cycle tourist in contemporary Britain, through the sensory experiences of place noticed during rides of any kind in 2010. [/SIZE]

I ASK YOU. if there is any chance of any information from you lovely people, whether its on here via e-mail or in person it would be great to be able to talk to you about your personal experiences of cycle touring, and the landscape. as well as what makes you a cyclist and what makes a great tour.

The grounding for the thesis is the geography of recreation and mobilities so i assume this is the best forum to post for information, if anyone else knows of any other areas or forums which would further my search i would love to hear about them.

Many thanks to those of you who read this, i look forward to hearing from some of you i hope.

Keep spinning, All the best

Tom Potter

Oxford Brookes University
School of Social Sciences and Law

you know while touring on a bike you don't get to know the passing cities and small towns that much, you spend the day pedaling so when you arrive to your daily destination all you want is a reasonably priced accommodation, a shower and a good meal. Before all that you need to unpack your panniers and store your bike. The day after the same thing in reverse, shower, load your bike and have a good breakfast and then off you go ! If you get to socialize with people, 80% of the times would be one-night friendship so to speak :)
It is however very nice to bump into other cyclists touring, where you will do have a nice camaraderie instantly.