"The Zone" Diet by Barry Sears ??

Discussion in 'General Fitness' started by Doug Gilliam, Dec 6, 2003.

1. Doug Gilliam

Doug Gilliam Guest

Hello,

I've just read a book named "The Zone" by Dr. Barry Sears which claims a lot of success especially
    with world class athletes including the Stanford Swim Team.

I'm not an expert on nutrition and I don't play one on TV but it seems to make a lot of sense and
    appears to be more balanced than the other high carb or high protein/fat diets.

Basically it calls for getting 40% of calories from carbs, 30 % from protein, and 30% from fat.
    Of course, it also wants you to get mostly the good types of all of these macronutrients and
    not the bad.

I'd be interested to hear any comments positive or negative about this diet. I'm not on this diet at
    this point (actually, I've never dieted but it would probably help me a lot if I did) but am
    considering moving my eating habits more in this direction.

Any thoughts?

Regards,

Doug Gilliam

Tags:

2. In article <[email protected]>, Doug Gilliam wrote:
    > Hello,
    >
    > I've just read a book named "The Zone" by Dr. Barry Sears which claims a lot of success especially
    > with world class athletes including the Stanford Swim Team.
    >
    > I'm not an expert on nutrition and I don't play one on TV but it seems to make a lot of sense and
    > appears to be more balanced than the other high carb or high protein/fat diets.
    >
    > Basically it calls for getting 40% of calories from carbs, 30 % from protein, and 30% from fat.
    > Of course, it also wants you to get mostly the good types of all of these macronutrients and not
    > the bad.
    >
    > I'd be interested to hear any comments positive or negative about this diet. I'm not on this diet
    > at this point (actually, I've never dieted but it would probably help me a lot if I did) but am
    > considering moving my eating habits more in this direction.
    >
    > Any thoughts?