Thigh ache and cleat position

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by Mick, Oct 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mick

Mick Guest

Hi, I've been riding a for a few years now, and would like to ask a question about Cleat position
    Bike setup.

I'm getting a real ache in my thighs, just above my knee (About 2-3 inches above my knee I suppose
    where my quadriceps tendon and muscle meet I could be wrong biology was never my strong point)
    Anyway when Riding it kind of feels like I'm doing all of the work with this area of my leg. I would
    have thought the main power should be coming from futher up my thigh??

As a result this area of my leg seems to get fatigued very easily and as a result I don't ride as
    much as I would like.

Could the position of my cleats cause this (they are at the moment directly over the ball of my
    foot) IE would moving them further back or forward direct the force to a different area of my leg,
    or is it more fundmental to my riding style, I try to spin as much as poss.

Thanks in advance Mick

Tags:

2. Stamkis

Stamkis Guest

I know absoulutely zip about cleat position. But, there is an article in this months Bicycling
    Magazine on knees that may help answer some of your questions. Good Luck!

> Hi, I've been riding a for a few years now, and would like to ask a question about Cleat position
    > Bike setup.
    >
    > I'm getting a real ache in my thighs, just above my knee (About 2-3 inches above my knee I suppose
    > where my quadriceps tendon and muscle meet I could be wrong biology was never my strong point)
    > Anyway when Riding it kind of feels like I'm doing all of the work with
    this
    > area of my leg. I would have thought the main power should be coming from futher up my thigh??
    >
    > As a result this area of my leg seems to get fatigued very easily and as a result I don't ride as
    > much as I would like.
    >