Thinking of buying this pup... good deal?

pmineault

Apr 6, 2006
Hey everyone,

I was looking for a good bike to use for touring in Europe this summer and stumbled onto this one right here:

http://lespac.com/search/detail.php...&prixfrom=De...&prixto=%C0...&offre=t&etatb=t

I'm not a big expert on bikes but that's about my 'budget sweet spot', and it sounds good. For the non-French speakers in here, it reads:

"cyclotourism bike paid 1200 $, used for 1000kms. (Montreal - ALma and a little more). Rear derailleur XT et front derailleur Sora. The cassette (?) has a big gear of 34. 27 speeds. Plateau 52-42-30. Wheel 36 spikes. Jante (?) double. Spring-loaded seat. Very robust clip pedal. It's a large (I'm 5-11)"

600$ canadian dollars, which is ~550 US$ or ~300euros. Good deal? Any advice?

pmineault said:
Hey everyone,

I was looking for a good bike to use for touring in Europe this summer and stumbled onto this one right here:

http://lespac.com/search/detail.php?cp=181&region=&gr=8&majalerte=&a=4279996&o=%2Fsearch%2Findex.php&r=1651&liste_ville=&liste_region=&parindex=0&page=2&total=1259&nbrpages=105&visite_recherche=&categorie_titre=%5BLoisirs+-+V%E9los%5D&orderby=distance&mots=&tr=4&distancemax=0&agemax=0&catgr=c181-8&yf=0&yt=0&prixfrom=De...&prixto=%C0...&offre=t&etatb=t

I'm not a big expert on bikes but that's about my 'budget sweet spot', and it sounds good. For the non-French speakers in here, it reads:

"cyclotourism bike paid 1200 $, used for 1000kms. (Montreal - ALma and a little more). Rear derailleur XT et front derailleur Sora. The cassette (?) has a big gear of 34. 27 speeds. Plateau 52-42-30. Wheel 36 spikes. Jante (?) double. Spring-loaded seat. Very robust clip pedal. It's a large (I'm 5-11)"

600$ canadian dollars, which is ~550 US$ or ~300euros. Good deal? Any advice?

Sounds like a good deal financially, but I'm not sure what "large" means. I suspect a "large" frame may be a tad big for you.