Thinking of putting AeroBars on my roadbike

iDash

Aug 23, 2010
I have a Felt Z100, slightly relaxed positioned handle bars.
I mostly compete in triathlons, If I were to put aero bars on it would that be more difficult and not be worth it in the long run? I've never used aero bars before. I'm just wondering if the position would be to awkward since its a road bike, would I have to lean to far over? I had a little bit of back trouble with my last tri, but I think that will lessen as I get used to riding. What are your thoughts, thanks :D

iDash said:
I have a Felt Z100, slightly relaxed positioned handle bars.
I mostly compete in triathlons, If I were to put aero bars on it would that be more difficult and not be worth it in the long run? I've never used aero bars before. I'm just wondering if the position would be to awkward since its a road bike, would I have to lean to far over? I had a little bit of back trouble with my last tri, but I think that will lessen as I get used to riding. What are your thoughts, thanks :D

Your gona get mixed resposnes to this question as every one has different views on it. I personally have put road bars on a road bike and had no dramas, others find it to be a pain. What distance triathlons are you doing?? You probably wong get much benefit out of them on short races. You can buy shorter aero bars for raod bikes wich would be better as you dont have to lean over as far. The other thing is if you do group rides, some groups wont allow you to ride with them on whilst riding in the group.

All in all it's a trial and error thing.

New AeroBars can feel pretty wobbly for a while, so at first they can be hard to get used to.
If you get some and put them on, try them on the straights, no turns, and no busy roads for a while.

But after you get used to them, it can be a bit like biking in a Lazboy, very relaxing.