Thoughts/Input on Training Plan

Euskadi

May 28, 2007
Hi all,

I have been reading info from this forum and the wattage google forum over the last couple of years since I started training with Power (Sept 2006). Based on that info and the Coggan bible I put together a tranining plan with a focus on L3, SST, and L4 and some L5.

If you don't mind I would appreciate your input/comment on my training (and anyone else interested).

I aim for 10-11 hours a week on the bike, 5 workouts during the week (about 1 hr 10 m - 1hr 20m) and one long one during the weekend (about 4.5 hrs). Here is what I have been doing since Mid July:

M: 2x20 L4 at 95-100% FTP (305W)
T: 2X20 L4 at 95-100% FTP
W: 1x60 SST 90-92% FTP (300W)
Th:2X20 L4 at 95-100% FTP
F: 4X9-10m L5 at 110% FTP (330W) 1.5 mile climb
Sa: Off
Su: 4hrs at 82-88% FTP (260W)

I haven't tested FTP in probably a year, but I estimate it to be about 305-310W based on what I can do during the week (maybe a bit underestimated). The M-Th rides are on the KK road machine and using a PowerTap SL.

As mentioned I have been at this level of workout since July after taking off for six weeks due to a car bashing into me at the end of a ride and breaking my hand (and destroying my bike:mad:). I had a similar plan prior to accident which I started in Dec and FTP was approx. 300 at time of accident.

My goals is to simply raise FTP, and do a bunch of hilly century rides and cyclosportives in Europe (Marmotte, etc) and maybe someday try road races (crits are a little too hairy for me).

I guess my question is: is there anything else you think I should incorporate to continue see my FTP rise? I am a bit worried about plateauing but haven't seen it yet. I haven't felt the need to rest or take it easy for a week, so I just keep plowing through.

BTW I am 35 years old and weigh about 75kg (6' 1" tall).

Thanks for any all input
Euskadi

Euskadi said: