THR Question...

RobinfromBoston

Nov 9, 2004
Hey All,

I'm just wondering whether training consistently at over 90% of your maximum heart rate (based on the 220-age formula) is dangerous. I am closing in on 45 years old and supposingly have a maximum heart rate of 170. When I wear my heart rate monitor, it seems that I have no problem getting my bpm to 165 but get nervous and slow down my cadence. At 165 bpm, I don't feel that I'm working all that hard; in fact, I would put my RPE at about a 14 or 15.

I do have asthma and wonder whether the inhaled medications I take may make my heart rate faster than others. My lowest resting heart rate is considered 'high' at 63bpm considering I've been riding for over 20 years.

Feedback, anyone?

Thanks...Robin

RobinfromBoston said:
Hey All,

I'm just wondering whether training consistently at over 90% of your maximum heart rate (based on the 220-age formula) is dangerous. I am closing in on 45 years old and supposingly have a maximum heart rate of 170. When I wear my heart rate monitor, it seems that I have no problem getting my bpm to 165 but get nervous and slow down my cadence. At 165 bpm, I don't feel that I'm working all that hard; in fact, I would put my RPE at about a 14 or 15.

I do have asthma and wonder whether the inhaled medications I take may make my heart rate faster than others. My lowest resting heart rate is considered 'high' at 63bpm considering I've been riding for over 20 years.

Feedback, anyone?

Thanks...Robin
My guess is that your max HR isn't 170, but more like 190-195. (220-age formula doesn't apply to fit people). E.G., I'm 57, and my max is 184.

You can get a sports med or cardiac lab to do a max HR ramp test, or test yourself on the trainer to determine your true max HR. But if you're on asthma meds, would say talk to your doctor first to make sure you're not putting yourself at risk by going for an all-out effort.