Throwing myself into the world of racing.

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by slickfast, Sep 26, 2010.

1. slickfast

slickfast New Member

Ok, I'll bite. I've been skating around the internet looking for some good, technical-minded cycling people that can help me out with a pretty cool point in my life that I feel like I desperately need help with. Onward:

Hey guys,

I'm an aeronautical engineering student who's senior capstone design project is designing, building, and racing a high-speed human powered vehicle (it's a bike, don't be impressed). However, that's only partially why I'm posting here. I'm here because I just found out that we can't bring on non-engineering students. I had a default plan if this turned out to be the case: me.

So, now I'm training harder then I've ever trained before, for an event that's happening in early May (the 7-9th, to be exact). I know it's not a lot of time, but I figure if I'm going up against other engineering students, and I train hard enough and smart enough, I might be able to win this thing (provided the vehicle gets designed, tested, and built, but I digress). Also, it could simultaneously spring me into the world of bike racing, something I've always wanted to do.

I'm a 22 year old, 6 foot tall, 155 pound geek. I'm a lanky guy with a small gut that (until recently swearing myself off of it for this purpose) has been formed from too many beer-filled college weekends. A little over a week ago I started doing a daily ride about 12.6 miles (I mapped it out on Googlemaps: http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF&msa=0&msid=115983363105253132091.000490a4174641e0f448e) through NH's mountainous terrain, and I was planning on doing it 6 days a week. After reading around on here, it looks like I shouldn't be taking that recovery day, as it usually takes me about 40-45 minutes, not 3 hours (or something that would merit a recovery day).