Ticking sound when peddling

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

Frank

I'm a bike newb. a few days ago i changed the tires and installed it back on my Trek mtb.. The front
tire was easy, but the rear was more complicated due to the chain.. now when i ride, i hear this
'ticking' sound when i'm peddling... Any idea what I did wrong or where to check?

Frank

Frank <[email protected]> spoke thusly...
> I'm a bike newb. a few days ago i changed the tires and installed it back on my Trek mtb.. The
> front tire was easy, but the rear was more complicated due to the chain.. now when i ride, i hear
> this 'ticking' sound when i'm peddling... Any idea what I did wrong or where to check?
>
> Frank
>
>
>

first, identify the frequency of the tick. is it once or twice per wheel rotation or crank rotation?

I am thinking loose crank, dry BB (although that makes more of a "screee" sound), loose pedals. if
it was a wheel, it would not stop when you stop pedaling, and the drivetrain tends to make more of a
grinding sound IME. first, try tightening the cranks. next, if that does not work, try tightening
the pedals. now, one of the pedals is reverse threaded. a good way to remember, is with the wrench
at the top (vertical above the pedal), forward tightens, and backward loosens, IIRC.
--
~Travis

travis57 at megalink dot net http://www.megalink.net/~farmers/

Frank wrote:
> I'm a bike newb. a few days ago i changed the tires and installed it back on my Trek mtb.. The
> front tire was easy, but the rear was more complicated due to the chain.. now when i ride, i hear
> this 'ticking' sound when i'm peddling... Any idea what I did wrong or where to check?

I recently had a really irritating bout of ticking-while-pedaling with my 'bent. After I checked out
the rear shock, the cranks, the bottom bracket and the drive train, I was able to remedy the problem
by tucking in the shoe laces (new bike shoes).

The moral of the story? Don't overlook the obvious.

Kathleen "Duh!"