Time All Road Pedals - compatibility question

hillsonn

Feb 5, 2012
Hi all,

Please forgive my ignornace, but I am quite new to cycling (really a runner in disguise /img/vbsmilies/smilies/smile.gif) and I could use your help in regards to getting some pedals.

I am doing an Ironman distance triathlon in April and my friend recently just gave me an old pair of Time Ulteam Tri shoes to use (I have been training with clipped pedals). I am looking to get some pedals for the shoes but I am a little confused about the system here. I understand that mountain bike pedals and road cycling pedals use different systems for the cleating element, but I am trying to figure out if these Time All Road Pedals would work with the Ulteam shoes/cleats. The cleats on the Ulteams have a three prong approach, and while the reading I have done on the All Road Pedals emphasizes their versatility, I am afraid some of the lingo is over my head.

The only reason I am considering these shoes is because they are the cheapest I can find that will be shipped to where I live (Japan) and money is very important as I am really trying to ball on a budget here.

Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated!

THANKS!

FWIW. While one would think that a TIME "Road" pedal would be compatible with a TIME Road shoe, when 'I' look at the picture of the particular pedal I have to tell you that I do NOT think the particular pedal & its cleat are compatible with the particular shoe because it appears to use the TIME MTB binding system and the particular pedal is apparently classified as as "Road" pedal because it only has the binding mechanism on ONE side whereas MTB pedals typically have the binding mechanism on both sides of the pedal..

• The TIME MTB cleat design utilizes the Shimano SPD Two-hole ([COLOR= #808080]side-by-side[/COLOR]) mounting system rather than the LOOK-based 3-hole ([COLOR= #808080]triangular[/COLOR]) mounting system.