Time management

thaag

Apr 8, 2004
Hi,

After I got myself a wife and now two little boys (and one more on the way), I discovered how difficult it is to find the time to train. I could really use some good advices on how to get in the training during a hectic day.

I have managed to cut back work by 10% to get a little more time there. And also just work every other week. I am a Security Officer, and have 10 hour nights and sometimes 8 hour days.

I just turned 27 years, and want to turn pro (VERY SOON). I'. beginning to think that I'm running out of time here. :)

If there are anyone experienced riders in the same sosical situation as I am, please throw your tips concerning time management and motivation at me. I really need it!

Thanks
Thomas

Think of alternative training times. I work a desk job (8:30 to whenever the day ends... usually 18:30 ~ 19:30) and I found that, once the time changes here, the best thing for me is to ride about 1.5 ~ 2 hours very early in the morning, before work.

That means I get to work in a great mood and 'pumped', don't have to make time to work out, and get to spend dinner/evenings with the family (wife and the two little monsters :p ).

It is the only way for me to be able to train during the week on a consistent basis. No where near enough to be competitive, but that is the way it is!

And for the winter months without daylight, it is only weekends and a LOT of time on the trainer at about 22:30, when the family goes to sleep.

Such is the life of the cycling-crazed family man! ;)

thaag said:
Hi,

After I got myself a wife and now two little boys (and one more on the way), I discovered how difficult it is to find the time to train. I could really use some good advices on how to get in the training during a hectic day.

I have managed to cut back work by 10% to get a little more time there. And also just work every other week. I am a Security Officer, and have 10 hour nights and sometimes 8 hour days.