Time trial frontal area

njiri

Aug 28, 2006
I am fairly new to time trialing and have been training with power for just over a year now. FTP of 340 and ride masters in South africa,and have been riding for just over 2 years now. I am really trying to do well in our upcoming national champs. Question I have is how does one go about measuring ones frontal area as per the figures given on Analyticalcycling. Im am 1.88 m tall wt 74kg. They give figures as typical as anywhere from 0.4 to 0.7 m2 and say to use 0.5 as a default. I have taken a series of photos with varying drops from 130mm to 180mm and then with a cad system worked out very accurately the area of my body at these various drops. For 130mm drop for example I get 0.24m2 way off what Analyticalcycling gets. This excludes the bike but that would add so little to it. In their explanation of frontal area they don,t say much but say it is very difficult to measure, why? If you have a pic and have the right computor programme then by drawing an outline around the object you can get the area exactly.

Any input on this would be much appreciated.

njiri said: