Time Up Mt.Diablo in Bay Area

jhodder

Mar 3, 2004
I've been cycling for a little over 4 months and want some sort of benchmark times to use to work towards. I live in the East Bay and have started climbing Mt. Diablo regularly. I also jaunt around the bears, pine hurst, etc.. I have young kids and work a ton, so my riding is confined to the wee hours of Saturday and Sunday morning (too early for most group rides).

I saw a cool website with benchmark times for riding up Old La Honda and want to see the same for Diablo. My last climb took just under an hour for the South Gate road (from Diablo Rd to summit)

I think that I am getting in good shape, but since I mostly ride alone, am curious as to what others are able to do.

Thanks in advance for spome of your sample times (either North or South Gate) and what signs or landmarks are commonly used for timing.

Originally posted by jhodder
I've been cycling for a little over 4 months and want some sort of benchmark times to use to work towards. I live in the East Bay and have started climbing Mt. Diablo regularly. I also jaunt around the bears, pine hurst, etc.. I have young kids and work a ton, so my riding is confined to the wee hours of Saturday and Sunday morning (too early for most group rides).

I saw a cool website with benchmark times for riding up Old La Honda and want to see the same for Diablo. My last climb took just under an hour for the South Gate road (from Diablo Rd to summit)

I think that I am getting in good shape, but since I mostly ride alone, am curious as to what others are able to do.

Thanks in advance for spome of your sample times (either North or South Gate) and what signs or landmarks are commonly used for timing.

There's an annual ride/race up that mountain. Search around for the website -- it has the results. I think it might be called the Mt Diablo Challenge.